Robert Love
Scouting Reports

Scouting Report: Hlinka-Gretzky Cup Wrap-up With Commentary From Coaches, Players

BRECLAV, Czech Republic — The dust has settled on the Ivan Hlinka, and perhaps even the small Czech town it called home for one week in August — not a lot happens in Břeclav, outside hockey.

Russia, with their phenom netminder Yaroslav Askarov, bent but never broke en route toa 3-2 win over Team Canada in the Gold Medal Game last Saturday. Meanwhile, in Piešťany, Slovakia, the Swedes wrapped up their Hlinka-Gretzky Cup with a dominating 5-1 performance over their rivals across the Gulf of Bothnia on the strength of 16-year-old goaltender Jesper Wallstedt.

As the horde of scouts, players, and observers scattered from Ice Bors Arena in Břeclav with their notes, and memories fresh in mind, the final standings shook out accordingly:

  1. Russia
  2. Canada
  3. Sweden
  4. Finland
  5. Czechia
  6. USA
  7. Slovakia
  8. Switzerlan
Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
Hlinka-Gretzky Cup 2019 Scouting Reports Russia U18 Russia U18(Cup) Canada U18 Canada U20 Finland U18 Finland U20 HIFK HIFK U20 HC Litvinov Ilves HC Olomouc Sudbury Wolves USA U18 U.S. National U18 Team Czech Republic Czech Republic U18 Sweden U18 Sweden U20 Windsor Spitfires Winnipeg Ice Winnipeg Jets Portland Winterhawks Skellefteå AIK AIK Guelph Storm Everett Silvertips Chicoutimi Saguenéens Switzerland U18 Switzerland U20 Rouyn-Noranda Huskies Acadie-Bathurst Titan Hlinka Gretzky Cup USHL WJC-18 QMJHL Czech Slovakia Liiga Jr. A SM-liiga SHL Allsvenskan SuperElit WHL OHL NCAA KHL MHL VHL Yaroslav Askarov Michal Gut Jan Mysak Quinton Byfield Hendrix Lapierre Justin Sourdif Cole Perfetti Kaiden Guhle Jamie Drysdale Tristan Lennox Joel Blomqvist Jesper Wallstedt Helge Grans Tobias Handl Pavel Matej Oliver Suni Juuso Mäenpää Brad Lambert Aatu Räty Daniil Chayka Magnus Hävelid Magnus Hävelid [staff] Mike Dyck [staff] Antti Miettinen Antti Hölli Roni Hirvonen Jean-Luc Foudy Will Cuylle Jake Neighbours Daniil Gushchin Vasili Ponomaryov
Scoring Leaders