Tomas Montén, head coach of team Sweden, during the 2019 IIHF World Junior Championship on January 3, 2019 in Vancouver.
Photo: Joel Marklund / BILDBYRÅN
World Juniors 2020

BODIN: Sweden is Forced to Play Waiting Game Ahead of World Juniors

STOCKHOLM, Sweden — The clock is ticking.

When Swedish head coach Tomas Montén presented his preliminary roster for the upcoming World Juniors in the Czech Republic, there were some big names missing.

No Adam Boqvist.

No Rasmus Sandin.

No David Gustafsson.

And no Victor Söderström.

The first three named above are all playing professionally in North America. Boqvist and Sandin in the AHL, Gustafsson in the NHL. That means their respective NHL team will decide the fate of the players. That’s why Montén has chosen to buy himself some time by leaving three open spots on the roster. Two for defencemen, one for a forward

”I have asked the teams the question, and they have said ’we’ll wait and see’,” Montén said during the press conference where he unveiled his team in Stockholm on Wednesday. ”I

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NHL Prospects World Juniors 2020 Sweden U20 Sweden Sweden U18 Chicago Blackhawks Rockford IceHogs Toronto Marlies Toronto Maple Leafs New Jersey Devils Binghamton Devils Arizona Coyotes Brynäs IF Linköping HC Philadelphia Flyers Frölunda HC Djurgårdens IF New York Rangers Skellefteå AIK AIK Dallas Stars Detroit Red Wings Boston Bruins Timrå IK Montréal Canadiens MODO Hockey Edmonton Oilers Rögle BK Vancouver Canucks Luleå HF Los Angeles Kings Ontario Reign Dubuque Fighting Saints Buffalo Sabres Tampa Bay Lightning Pittsburgh Penguins Winnipeg Jets NHL SHL SuperElit Allsvenskan WJC-20 Adam Boqvist Rasmus Sandin Jesper Boqvist Victor Söderström Adam Ginning Linus Öberg Lucas Raymond Alexander Holtz Linus Nässén Karl Henriksson Albin Eriksson Jonatan Berggren Nikola Pasic Oskar Bäck Jacob Olofsson Nils Höglander Samuel Fagemo Mattias Norlinder Philip Broberg Nils Lundkvist Tobias Björnfot Jesper Eliasson Erik Portillo Hugo Alnefelt Tomas Montén [staff] Noel Gunler Filip Hållander David Gustafsson
Scoring Leaders