S7 Design - EliteProspects
NHL Entry Draft 2020

VIDEO: EliteProspects Scouts Meet to set 2020 NHL Entry Draft Ranking Version 4.0

The appetite for NHL Draft coverage expands with every year. Where the main course centred on the first round alone once sufficed, our audience now demands a seven-plate meal with bits and bites on every prospect down to the 217th pick.

We’re working harder than ever to satisfy that appetite. Our board expands with every ranking, and we share the feedback that industry insiders offer in response. Now, for the first time, we’re providing unparalleled access to the video recording of our last meeting, in which we formed our most recent ranking of the top 124 players in the 2020 NHL Draft.

It’s a four-and-a-half-plus hours long video, in which the eleven EliteProspects Rinkside scouts convene to share their arguments, intel, etc. and debate among themselves how to order the 124 best prospects in this year’s crop.

We lose some members along the way. There might seemingly be some gaps in coverage or direct, Point A to Point B thinking.

That’s why I’d ask that you understand just how much collaboration goes into this project before we even get to the video conference. We’re in constant contact with one another, sharing observations and challenging one another’s convictions, and that might explain any seeming gaps in coverage.

Trying to break this thing down round-by-round was a difficult task. We’re sometimes talking about three, four, or even five players at a time, so the lines get a little bit blurred. Even so, these are good timestamp proxies for where one might expect one round to turn to another.

  • Round 1 turns to Round 2 right around the 2:00:00 mark.
  • Round 2 turns to Round 3 right around the 3:00:00 mark.
  • Round 3 turns to Round 4 right around the 4:00:00 mark.

There are some great debates therein. The conversation about Brendan Brisson, Seth Jarvis, and Mavrik Bourque, right around the 0:45:00 mark, is well worth your time. So, too, is the argument we shared about how to order Ethan Edwards and Michael Benning, and that one takes place right around the 3:15:00 mark.

We’ve made some minor edits here and there for clarity and length. For the most part, though, what you see is what you get. Even after paring this thing down to make it more accessible and easily consumable, it’s only down about an hour, from 5:30:00 to about 4:37:00.

The conversation starts at No. 4, after ranking Alexis Lafrenière, Quinton Byfield, and Lucas Raymond, and in that order, too. Enjoy.

Editor’s note: We offer our gratitude to Will Scouch of Scouching for the fine work he did editing this video for EliteProspects. You can find him on Twitter following this link and find his YouTube channel by following this one.

You may also be interested in:
EXCLUSIVE: EliteProspects 2020 NHL Entry Draft Ranking Version 4.0
EXCLUSIVE: EliteProspects 2020 NHL Entry Draft Ranking Version 4.0
This article is about:
NHL Entry Draft 2020 Rimouski Océanic Canada U20 Canada U18 Sudbury Wolves Frölunda HC Frölunda HC J20 Sweden U20 Sweden U18 Ottawa 67 Erie Otters Djurgårdens IF Djurgårdens IF J20 Saginaw Spirit Adler Mannheim Germany U20 Germany U18 USNTDP Juniors U.S. National U18 Team USA U20 USA U18 HIFK Finland U20 Finland U18 Shawinigan Cataractes Portland Winterhawks Chicago Steel Chicoutimi Saguenéens Drummondville Voltigeurs Univ. of North Dakota SKA St. Petersburg SKA-Neva St. Petersburg Shattuck St. Mary Salavat Yulaev Ufa Tolpar Ufa Univ. of Wisconsin Malmö Redhawks Univ. of Michigan Prince Albert Raiders Luleå HF Sarnia Sting EHC München Kamloops Blazers Saint John Sea Dogs Hamilton Bulldogs HC Litvinov Czech Republic U20 Czech Republic U18 Ässät Soo Greyhounds Brandon Wheat Kings Barrie Colts MODO Hockey MODO Hockey J20 Oshawa Generals Univ. of Minnesota Univ. of Minnesota-Duluth Tappara Tappara U20 Kärpät Harvard Univ. Quinnipiac Univ. HV71 HV71 J20 Leksands IF Leksands IF J20 Eisbären Berlin Saskatoon Blades Vancouver Giants Windsor Spitfires Andover Huskies Providence College Guelph Storm London Knights Dynamo Moskva Dynamo St. Petersburg Kiekko-Espoo U20 Kiekko-Espoo St. Cloud State Univ. Moose Jaw Warriors Spruce Grove Saints Sherwood Park Crusaders Univ. of Denver Charlottetown Islanders Flint Firebirds Halifax Mooseheads Niagara IceDogs Rögle BK Rögle BK J20 Everett Silvertips TPS TPS U20 Boston Univ. Baie-Comeau Drakkar Cape Breton Eagles Québec Remparts Kingston Frontenacs Hermantown High Boston College Moncton Wildcats Färjestad BK Färjestad BK J20 Regina Pats Univ. of Connecticut HC Karlovy Vary Acadie-Bathurst Titan St. Mark Merrimack College Linköping HC Linköping HC J20 Des Moines Buccaneers Muskegon Lumberjacks (USHL) North Bay Battalion Spokane Chiefs Cedar Rapids RoughRiders The Gunnery (CT) Davos Carleton Place Canadians Tri-City Storm Univ. of New Hampshire NHL QMJHL OHL WHL USHL USHS USHS-Prep WJC-18 WJC-20 NCAA USDP KHL VHL MHL Liiga U20 SM-sarja SuperElit SHL Allsvenskan Mestis Czech BCHL AJHL OJHL Alexis Lafrenière Quinton Byfield Lucas Raymond Marco Rossi Jamie Drysdale Alexander Holtz Cole Perfetti Tim Stützle Jake Sanderson Yaroslav Askarov Anton Lundell Mavrik Bourque Seth Jarvis Brendan Brisson Dawson Mercer Jack Quinn Rodion Amirov Dylan Holloway Thomas Bordeleau Helge Grans Kaiden Guhle Noel Gunler Hendrix Lapierre Jérémie Poirier Jacob Perreault Connor Zary John-Jason Peterka Theodor Niederbach Daniel Torgersson Jan Mysak Ozzy Wiesblatt Ryan O Braden Schneider Vasili Ponomaryov Tyson Foerster William Wallinder Tyler Tullio Kasper Simontaival Topi Niemelä Brock Faber Daniil Gushchin Roby Järventie Sean Farrell Ty Smilanic Joni Jurmo Emil Andrae Anton Johannesson Emil Heineman Lukas Reichel Tristen Robins Justin Sourdif Marat Khusnutdinov Jean-Luc Foudy Wyatt Kaiser Nico Daws Brett Berard Luke Evangelista Cross Hanas Joel Blomqvist Dmitri Rashevsky Zion Nybeck Veeti Miettinen Dylan Garand Daemon Hunt Ethan Edwards Michael Benning Lukas Cormier Yevgeni Oksentyuk Oskar Magnusson Pavel Gogolev Justin Barron Calle Clang Gage Goncalves Eemil Viro Dylan Peterson Sam Colangelo Christopher Merisier-Ortiz Ryan Francis Connor McClennon Evan Vierling Théo Rochette Ridly Greig Martin Chromiak Ethan Cardwell Blake Biondi Eamon Powell Elliot Desnoyers Leo Lööf Billy Constantinou Ryker Evans Yan Kuznetsov Jan Bednar Jacob Dion Ian Moore Parker Ford Jacob Truscott Alex Laferriere Lleyton Moore Declan Carlile Brady Burns Daniel Ljungman William Dufour Brandon Coe Josh Pillar Jack Finley Robert Calisti Albert Lyckåsen Yaroslav Likhachyov Alexei Goryachev Ben Meehan Ronan Seeley Axel Rindell Artem Shlaine Viktor Persson Kristóf Papp Jonny Meiers Luke Reid Colby Ambrosio Devon Levi Daniil Ovchinnikov Dmitri Ovchinnikov Alex Jefferies Tyler Kleven Benjamin Baumgartner
Scoring Leaders