Grand Rapids Griffins forward Riley Barber
Nicolas Carrillo (Grand Rapids Griffins)

Around The AHL: The ballots, please

It is time to hand out AHL awards


Determining award winners in a 31-team league is at best a complicated equation even in the most normal of times.


In a season in which roster upheaval became a daily occurrence, teams played very limited schedules and a flood of 18- and 19-year-old first-round talent poured into the league?


That process becomes downright gridlocked this season as I tried to sort through a slew of candidates. The process ended up taking hours before I could finally settle on a list of winners. Even with decisions based on a season of viewing games nightly (along with plenty of those new weekday afternoon tilts), interviews with management, head coaches and players throughout the far-flung AHL, the decisions did not come easily.


But the AHL is handing out player awards this season, and so am I. Without further ado, here are this season’s choices.

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
AHL Bakersfield Condors Bratislava Capitals Chicago Blackhawks Chicago Wolves Detroit Red Wings Grand Rapids Griffins Hartford Wolf Pack Henderson Silver Knights Hershey Bears Iowa Wild Laval Rocket Ontario Reign Providence Bruins Rockford IceHogs San Diego Gulls Texas Stars Val-d'Or Foreurs Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins NHL AHL QMJHL ICEHL Calen Addison Nick Baptiste Riley Barber Nicolas Beaudin Tyler Benson Maxim Cajkovic Trevor Carrick Riley Damiani Oscar Dansk Chase De Leo Lukas Dostal Marc-André Fleury Cody Franson Cameron Gaunce Jeff Glass Thomas Harley Arthur Kaliyev Michael Krutil Vincent LoVerde Cooper Marody Adam Mascherin Connor McMichael Cole Moberg Ryan Murphy Isaak Phillips Alec Regula Stuart Skinner Logan Thompson David Warsofsky Tim Army Joël Bouchard Spencer Carbery Bruce Cassidy Scott Gordon Peter Laviolette Jay Leach Mike Sullivan
Scoring Leaders