Trophy Watch: GM of the Year

The NHL will be announcing the finalists for each of the major individual awards this season over the next couple of weeks. They may not typically get a lot of things right, but the slow rollout of the news here is a slam dunk move by the league. 

They're smart to spread them out one at a time, both to give the finalists their time in the sun, but also to keep people talking. It just makes for good content, which is something we can certainly appreciate here.

As they do so, we're going to parse through what the likely thinking was for the voters, and what they got right versus wrong in their decision-making process. We've already looked at how the Vezina Trophythe Calder Trophythe Norris Trophy the Hart Trophy, and the Jack Adams nominations shook out.

Next up: the Jim Gregory Award, given to the General Manager of the Year.

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at eliteprospects.com to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NHL Florida Panthers Montréal Canadiens New York Islanders Marc Bergevin Julien BriseBois Bill Guerin Lou Lamoriello Joe Sakic Don Sweeney Bill Zito
Scoring Leaders