NHL Entry Draft 2021

Winners and Losers from the 2021 NHL Entry Draft

Well, that was a doozie. The 2021 NHL Entry Draft has finally, mercifully come to a close, with a record-high 224 picks joining the league's ranks.

It was every bit as unpredictable as we thought it might be going into the proceedings. We knew which players were going to be a part of the first eight picks, but everything after that was a mystery right to the final selection. There were risers, fallers, stunning picks, and everything in between. 

Some teams did better than others, and they're going to reap the rewards of their diligence two, three, four years down the road, and then some. This draft may seem short on top-of-the-lineup talent at first glance, but there are doubtless valuable contributors sprinkled throughout.

We're going to take stock of which teams have positioned themselves to get the most NHL talent out of this year's class, and which teams didn't fare so well. Obviously, this story is going to be several years in the making, but we can make some educated guesses about how things might shake out based on our pre-draft evaluations. Let's get to it.

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at eliteprospects.com to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NHL Entry Draft 2021 Columbus Blue Jackets Minnesota Wild Montréal Canadiens Ottawa Senators San Jose Sharks Tampa Bay Lightning NHL Caedan Bankier Nate Benoit Jackson Blake Tyler Boucher Ben Boyd Ethan Cardwell Corson Ceulemans Dylan Duke William Eklund Robert Flinton Alex Gagne Benjamin Gaudreau Liam Gilmartin Artem Guryev Patrik Hamrla Aleksi Heimosalmi Aidan Hreschuk Niko Huuhtanen Theo Jacobsson Kent Johnson Oliver Kapanen Yevgeni Kashnikov Riley Kidney Ville Koivunen Dmitri Kostenko Kaapo Kähkönen Carson Lambos Gannon Laroque Carson Latimer Cameron MacDonald Logan Mailloux Nikolai Makarov James Malatesta Kyle Masters Max McCue Bryce Montgomery Scott Morrow Yegor Naumov Joel Nyström Robert Orr Zack Ostapchuk Jack Peart Josh Pillar Daniil Pylenkov Nikita Quapp Guillaume Richard Justin Robidas Benjamin Roger Chandler Romeo Martin Rysavy Roman Schmidt Cole Sillinger Xavier Simoneau Daniil Sobolev Stanislav Svozil William Trudeau Joe Vrbetic Jesper Wallstedt Marc Bergevin Judd Brackett Cam Lawrence Josh Weissbock Doug Wilson, Jr.
Scoring Leaders