NHL Prospects

Standouts at the 2021 WHL Cup

With the pandemic pushing the WHL Bantam Draft until December, the WHL Cup became one of the marquee events of the WHL scouting calendar.

In this four-team tournament, players represent their provinces – British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba. They play five games in five days with gold on the line.

The tournament’s nine-year history is filled with future NHL and top prospects, headlined by Mathew BarzalBrayden PointMatt DumbaPeyton Krebs and more.

With the 2021 WHL Cup being held in Red Deer, Alberta, I decided to make the two-hour drive to learn more about an age group I've never watched before. In total, I attend 10 of the 12 games. Here’s the rundown on the prospects who stood out in this tournament.

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at eliteprospects.com to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NHL Prospects Brandon Wheat Kings U15 AAA Brandon Wheat Kings U17 AAA Brandon Wheat Kings U18 AAA Calgary Royals U15 AAA Calgary Royals U16 AAA Calgary Royals U18 AAA Delta Hockey Academy U17 Prep Delta Hockey Academy U17 Prep Delta Hockey Academy U18 Prep Delta Hockey Academy U18 Prep Northern Alberta Xtreme U15 Prep Northern Alberta Xtreme U16 Prep Northern Alberta Xtreme U18 Prep Prince Albert Mintos U18 AAA Rink Hockey Academy Kelowna U17 Rink Hockey Academy Kelowna U18 Rink Hockey Academy Winnipeg U15 Rink Hockey Academy Winnipeg U16 Rink Hockey Academy Winnipeg U18 Saskatoon Blazers U18 AAA Southwest Cougars U15 AAA Southwest Cougars U18 AAA Winnipeg Bruins U15 AAA Winnipeg Bruins U17 AAA Winnipeg Bruins U18 AAA Yale Hockey Academy U15 Prep Yale Hockey Academy U17 Prep Yale Hockey Academy U18 Prep CSSHL U18 CSSHL U15 MU18HL WAAA U15 SMAAAHL Riley Ashe Tyson Buczkowski Clarke Caswell Tristen Doyle Josh Fluker Jordan Gavin Caleb Hadland Gavin Hodnett Marek Howell Tij Iginla Cayden Lindstrom Miguel Marques Keith McInnis Tomas Mrsic Tarin Smith Ashton Tait Seth Tansem Jonas Woo
Scoring Leaders