NCAA tournament preview: Can Michigan meet its lofty expectations?

The regular season was a prelude. It’s all on the Michigan Wolverines now.

Much like the Toronto Maple Leafs, anything this team did in the regular season wasn't going to matter or really impress anyone. It's always been about how many trophies it collected.

It would never have simply been good enough for Michigan, with its sextet of first-round picks — including four of the top five in last year’s draft — to simply win the Big Ten regular season (they didn’t) and postseason (they did). With this many elite players for their age group playing in a win-at-all costs environment, it’s Frozen Four or bust. At a minimum.

And it’s clear that those have been the stakes more or less from the outset. This is why Michigan infamously begged out of having to play Western Michigan — an excellent team that

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NCAA Minnesota State Univ. Quinnipiac Univ. St. Cloud State Univ. Univ. of Denver Univ. of Michigan Univ. of Minnesota Univ. of North Dakota Univ. of Notre Dame Western Michigan Univ. NCAA John Adams Ronnie Attard John Beecher Sean Behrens Matty Beniers Michael Benning Jake Boltmann Thomas Bordeleau Skyler Brind'Amour Bobby Brink Brendan Brisson Bryce Brodzinski Tristan Broz Shai Buium Judd Caulfield Magnus Chrona Eric Ciccolini Matteo Costantini Stanislav Demin Dylan Duke Ethan Edwards Riese Gaber Matthew Galajda Cole Guttman Gavin Hain Brian Halonen Sam Hentges Dávid Hrenák Luke Hughes Aaron Huglen Justin Janicke Trevor Janicke Brent Johnson Kent Johnson Ryan Johnson Michael Karow Matthew Kessel Tyler Kleven Matthew Knies Mike Koster Jackson Kunz Jackson LaCombe Nick Leivermann Josh Lopina Chaz Lucius Taylor Makar Carter Mazur Dryden McKay Blake McLaughlin Lucas Mercuri Veeti Miettinen Cooper Moore Scott Morrow Matt Murray Jack Perbix Nicklaus Perbix Yaniv Perets Rhett Pitlick Jacob Pivonka Erik Portillo Owen Power Massimo Rizzo Ryder Rolston Mackie Samoskevich Jake Sanderson Carter Savoie Wyatt Schingoethe Jake Schmaltz Landon Slaggert Ty Smilanic Nathan Smith Brett Stapley Spencer Stastney Bobby Trivigno Jacob Truscott Antti Tuomisto Ryan Ufko Samuel Walker Paul Washe McKade Webster Pat Ferschweiler
Scoring Leaders