Who will win the 2023 Mike Richter Award as college hockey's best goalie? And who should?

The Mike Richter Award is given annually to the "most outstanding" goaltender in NCAA hockey, and unlike most seasons, the cast of nominees should look pretty familiar.

While 2022 finalist Dryden McKay is no longer playing college hockey, the other two goalies who ended up as finalists last season are back once again: Northeastern's Devon Levi (who already began his NHL career last week and won the award in 2022) and Quinnipiac's Yaniv Perets (who will play in the Frozen Four tomorrow) are both finalists for the second season in a row.

Perets and Levi, who hail from the same hometown in Quebec, are two of just a handful of goaltenders to be Richter finalists in back-to-back years. 

Joining them is Michigan Tech's Blake Pietila, who was a finalist in 2021.

Full disclosure, I vote on this award

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NCAA Michigan Tech Northeastern Univ. Quinnipiac Univ. NCAA Devon Levi Yaniv Perets Blake Pietila
Scoring Leaders