Connor Bedard leads the way among 2022-23 CHL Award Winners

KAMLOOPS, British Columbia - Before the 2023 Memorial Cup finale on Sunday, this past season’s best and brightest stars from the Canadian Hockey League were recognized at the CHL Awards ceremony. 

All eyes were on Connor Bedard who was nominated for three awards -  the Top Prospect Award, the Top Scorer Award, and the David Branch CHL Player of the Year Award. In a surprise to absolutely no one, he came away with all three. It was the first time in CHL history that a player has won all three in the same season. 

Bedard wasn't the only player to leave Kamloops with some hardware. 

Maxim Massé of the Chicoutimi Saguenéens took home the CHL Rookie of the Year award after posting 29 goals and 62 points in 65 QMJHL contests. 

Evan Vierling (NYR) of the Barrie Colts was named CHL Sportsman of the Year after recording a career-high 95 points while earning just 12 penalty minutes. 

The CHL Defenceman of the Year award was between three Anaheim Ducks' prospects. Kamloops Blazers' star, Olen Zellweger took home the trophy. Zellweger was tremendous this season, recording 47 goals and 113 points in just 73 games spread across the regular season, playoffs, and Memorial Cup. 

The CHL Goaltender of the Year was awarded to Victoriaville Tigres' stopper, Nathan Darveau. Darveau posted a 27-14-2 record with a .929 save percentage in 50 appearances. 

The winner of the CHL Humanitarian of the Year Award was Dalyn Wakely of the North Bay Battalion. Wakely spearheaded a program with his teammates that provide food to North Bay's homeless and low-income residents. 

2023 top prospect, Colby Barlow was named the CHL Scholastic Player of the Year. Barlow averaged 93 percent in his grade 12 and university-level courses this year. 

Finally, the Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year award was given to Dave Cameron of the Ottawa 67s. A fitting win as Kilrea has spent nearly 50 years in the 67s organization. 

You may also be interested in:
Stanley Cup Notebook: Florida Panthers have flipped NHL script to be here
Stanley Cup Notebook: Florida Panthers have flipped NHL script to be here
This article is about:
CHL Colby Barlow Connor Bedard Nathan Darveau Maxim Massé Evan Vierling Dalyn Wakely Olen Zellweger
Scoring Leaders