Unnumbered Thoughts: Daniel Brière's strong rookie GM campaign

Of all the NHL awards, the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award has perhaps the oddest voting timeline. 

Ballots are cast by active NHL GMs after the second round of the Stanley Cup playoffs. 

It becomes more of a “what have you done lately?” prize than an overall season award. Of the 14 winners of the award, including 2023 honoree Jim Nill, 11 have come from the final four GMs in the conference final. 

Only Don Maloney in 2010, Doug Armstrong in 2012, and Bob Murray in 2014 have been named top GM without their teams having a bit of playoff luck past the second round. 

It’s why any talk right now about the NHL’s best GM feels hollow. While other NHL awards for players and coaches are based on the regular season, the best GM is also a playoff trophy. 

With that in mind, it’s important t

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at eliteprospects.com to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NHL Chicago Blackhawks Colorado Avalanche Dallas Stars Florida Panthers Maine Mariners New York Rangers Philadelphia Flyers Seattle Kraken USNTDP Juniors Vegas Golden Knights NHL ECHL CHL NTDP Aleksander Barkov Connor Bedard Matty Beniers Jack Eichel Brendan Gallagher Cutter Gauthier Carter Hart Miro Heiskanen Roope Hintz Nathan MacKinnon Cale Makar Matvei Michkov Jake Oettinger Cal Petersen Massimo Rizzo Owen Tippett Vincent Trocheck Doug Armstrong Daniel Brière Jim Gregory Keith Jones Don Maloney Bob Murray Jim Nill John Tortorella
Scoring Leaders