Frozen Four Preview: College hockey's blue bloods vying to win yet another trophy

In recent years, relative newcomers to the national title picture — Quinnipiac last season, UMass, Minnesota Duluth winning three from 2011 to 2019, Providence, Union, Yale — have come away winners at the Frozen Four.

These were teams without much in the way of what you'd call a national pedigree, and while those traditional powers have always been around (Denver has two titles since 2017, North Dakota won in 2016), they've certainly taken a bit more of a back seat.

But now the Frozen Four is here again, and for the first time in a while, power has fully transferred back to the winningest programs in NCAA history. Whichever team lifts that trophy on Saturday night, they will be in the top-four winningest programs ever.

Denver and Michigan, the two programs that sit tied for the all-time lead

Access this article with EP Premium

Go Premium to access this article

Register your Premium-membership at to get access to this article and more quality, in-depth coverage at EP Rinkside

This article is about:
NCAA Boston College Boston Univ. Univ. of Denver Univ. of Michigan NCAA Seamus Casey Macklin Celebrini Jack Devine Cutter Gauthier Greg Brown David Carle Brandon Naurato Jay Pandolfo
Scoring Leaders